Superhero Summer

This summer was the summer of the superheroes. With the Avengers movie underway and filming (directed by the amazing Joss Whedon), it was really no surprise that this was the summer that they all came out of the shadows and started to form.

But before I get to the movies that branch into Avengers, let’s look at the other superhero movies that I saw, that came out this summer.

X-Men: First Class

In 1962, the United States government enlists the help of Mutants with superhuman abilities to stop a malicious dictator who is determined to start World War III.
from imdb.com

If I could use two words to describe this movie they would be: James McAvoy. Granted, my small crush on the Scotland born actor, may make me a little clouded in judgement, but I still stand by it.

First Class allowed us to see the beginning of the X-Men. More importantly, it allowed us to see the real friendship between Charles and Erik. Professor X and Magneto have always been kind of a mystery, First Class definitely put a different spin on the characters we all know and love. The most illuminating character development to me was that of Raven/Mystique, a character shrouded in mystery, just looking to be accepted. That is until she meets Erik.
This movie made me love this series even more.

In the graphics sense, this movie reminded me of the last movies. I’m not sure what it is, but I always love the way the X-Men movies handle their graphics. They steer away from overdoing it, but still make it pleasing to the eye without getting cheesy.

Thor

The powerful but arrogant warrior Thor is cast out of the fantastic realm of Asgard and sent to live amongst humans on Earth, where he soon becomes one of their finest defenders.
from imdb.com

Huzzah for the Avengers! It took me forever to get to see this movie. Partially because of money and partially because, of all the Avengers, Thor seemed to interest me the least. (Also, I’m seriously Natalie Portman’d out.) This movie far exceeded my expectations. Chris Hemsworth could not have been more perfect for the role of the Thunder God. The banter between the fantastic cast of Natalie Portman, Kat Dennings, and Stellan Skarsgård against the arrogant Chris Hemsworth was fantastic.

I felt even though the storyline had a slow buildup, it was well worth the wait. To my surprise, another Avenger makes a surprise appearance in this movie – Hawkeye. Hawkeye continues to intrigue me. Of course, I still don’t really know him.

Thor surprised me in a lot of ways, primarily in the graphics department. Seeing all the graphics that had gone into Green Lantern, I was terrified that all the upcoming movies would have a similar feel. The director and producers of Thor knew just when to shine the light on their amazing graphics team, and when to pull it back and let the acting shine through.

As a side note: I loved seeing Jaimie Alexander as Sif. I’ve loved her work ever since seeing her on Kyle XY.

Captain America

After being deemed unfit for military service, Steve Rogers volunteers for a top secret research project that turns him into Captain America, a superhero dedicated to defending America’s ideals.
(from imdb.com)

When the casting for this movie first came out, I was one of those people that were a little upset at the casting for Captain America himself. Not that I didn’t think that Chris Evans would be a great Captain, quite the opposite, I just felt that he was already a well known Marvel character, and that this felt a little bit like double dipping. After months of stewing then realizing that I can’t change the cast, I accepted the choice.

Boy, am I glad I did that. Chris Evans pulled off the perfect Captain America. The rest of the cast for this movie was top notch. No surprise really, with a cast consisting of not only Chris Evans, but also Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci, Dominic Cooper and Hugo Weaving. The closer this movie came to premiere, to more I was anxious to see it. Plus, the easter egg at the end of the movie had me bouncing up and down in my theater seat.

Graphics wise, after getting through the first part of the movie with computer animated skinny Steve Rogers, I was a lot more satisfied. The graphics never seemed ahead of its time for the period superhero movie, it all felt very real and perfectly accurate for the 1940s.


Be on the look out May 2012….

The Avengers are coming!

Leave a Reply

