Movie Reel` Red: Werewolf Hunter


I openly admit that I am not a big fan of scary movies. I can handle some suspense, but thrillers are a no go. They’re not my cup of tea. Although, when it comes to fantasy thrillers (is there such a thing? I’m going to pretend that there is), I tend to really love them. Zombieland is one of my favorite Halloween Movies ever.

That being said, and with Halloween coming just around the corner, I was reminded of a SyFy Original Movie that premiered last haunting season that I loved. The movie is called “Red: Werewolf Hunter”.

Synopsis:

The modern-day descendant of Little Red Riding Hood brings her fiancé home to meet her family and reveal their occupation as werewolf hunters, but after he is bitten by a werewolf, she must protect him from her own family.

(from imdb.com)

Red is a different take on the classic fairytale Little Red Riding Hood. Every first born girl in the Sullivan family inherits the nickname “Red”. The fact that Virginia (Felicia Day) is a red head is just a crazy, random happenstance. When Virginia decides to bring her fiance Nathan (Kavan Smith), to meet her family, it’s quickly apparent that she needs to tell him her family secret. They’re a family of hunters… werewolf hunters.

Felicia Day, continues to grow in her badassery. First as a potential Slayer, then as a lone survivor in Dollhouse, and in an up coming web-series based on the game Dragon Age: Redemption, a mysterious Elven assassin. “Red”, is another stepping stone in the awesome direction. Kavan Smith is another person that I personally feel is not cast as often as he should be. Having loved him in Stargate: Atlantis, Sanctuary, and Eureka, I was excited to see him as kind of a main role. Nathan was a bit of a bland character, though I think that Kavan did well with what he had.

As much as I love Felicia and Kavan, the person who stole the show, was Stephen McHattie. I’m pretty sure that this man could play the most saint like person in the universe, and I’d still find him completely creepy. Stephen’s portrayal of Gabriel, the rebellious shape shifter insistent on creating more of his kind, instills just the right amount of creepy in his performance to give one (okay, ME) nightmares.

Now, after researching other peoples opinions about it, I feel like one of the only people that liked this movie. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m generally not a scary movie kind of person (though I’m not sure if this qualifies as a scary movie really), or maybe its the fact that with the casting of Felicia Day, Kavan Smith, and Stephen McHattie, the movie is already well on its way to being awesome in my mind. What it really comes down to, is when it comes to made for tv movies, you have to take a step back, and realize that things are probably going to suck, so take it for what it is, sit down and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

