New Obsession: Haven

This was one of those shows that when my friend Allison told me I needed to watch, I was a bit skeptical. I’m a VERY big fan of SciFi shows, particularly the ones ON SyFy, but I’m not that interested in Stephen King’s work.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s an amazing author and definitely a genius. I loved the TV interpretation of The Dead Zone, but it wasn’t one of those shows that I got pulled into. It was good, but I only ended up watching it when I happened across it. For the most part, it was a show of convenience, not one I was addicted to.

Since there wasn’t much on during the summer (save for Eureka, Warehouse 13, Suits, and Torchwood) I figured, what the heck, if I didn’t like it, then whatever, it wasn’t like I NEEDED a new show to watch.

It took me only 3 days to watch the entire first season of Haven – just in time for season 2 to start. Though I still have no plans to read the book that this is based on (I tried listening to it and it just isn’t my cup of tea, plus I’ve heard that it’s sort of a spin off of another one of his series), this series drew me in fast. Here are a couple of reasons why you should check out this amazing series.

Synopsis:She has no past. She has no family. She was raised in an orphanage. So, she lives for what she does best: be an FBI agent. That’s why Audrey Parker is sent to a distant Maine township called Haven, to investigate the crime of a prison fugitive. What she does not know, is that her past is connected to that village, that old threats from the past are coming back, and she is going to be a central piece on everyone’s life… or death.
(from imdb.com)

One: Audrey Parker, Nathan Wournos, and Duke Crocker.
I haven’t met a trio of characters that I loved so much since I read Harry Potter. First we have Audrey, who has great chemistry with both men, to the point that I almost can’t decide who I want her to be with more. Duke? or Nathan? She’s a super tough FBI agent who tends to think a little far outside the box outside of the box. Much to her boss’s chagrin. Though she makes up for it by usually being right. Next is the wonderful Nathan Wournos, son of the Chief and a Troubled man who can’t feel anything. He legitimately can’t physically feel anything. Which makes him a little guarded but he slowly breaks out of his shell more as he partners up with Audrey. Last and definitely not least Duke Crocker, is the criminal in this band. Always reluctant to help out the local cops, somehow they manage to need his help a lot. He, of course, always comes through. Nathan and Duke themselves have fantastic back story that we are still slowly learning. The rapport between the three of them always makes for some excellent comedy, and it’s perfect in the heart wrenching parts of some episodes.

Two: The Troubles
It’s no secret that I’m a sucker for stories where people have super-human abilities. That being said, I’m glad that this takes a bit of a turn on the idea. In the Haven universe, it’s not random people from all over the world who have these abilities. It’s only a handful of people that live in this small seaside town, and most of them aren’t aware of it. The Troubles are what the people of Haven call the afflicted, and not all of them want to work with the Troubled. Most of them want to get rid of them, thinking that they’re freaks. The Troubles can manifest as anything, depending on the person. It can be an ability like a woman whose mood effects the weather. Or a man that when he plays music, it drives people insane. The only person that seems to be immune to these Troubled people is Audrey. Though she’s not exactly sure why.

Three: Secret Secrets…
The best thing about this series (aside from the amazing characters) is the fact that it’s always a mystery. You have the town busybodies who know things, but refuse to tell anyone. It’s obvious they know more than they’re telling. It just makes you wonder, “what the hell is going on in this town?” The mystery keeps getting deeper and deeper with every episode. Also, Haven is really good at making sure that things are tied up in crazy ways. It kind of messes with your mind a little bit… in a good way. Once you think you’ve figured out the mystery, it throws a curve ball at you.

If you enjoy shows that keep you guessing, and shows that draw you into the characters, this show is for you.

Leave a Reply

