[Recap/Review] Switched at Birth ` Self Portrait with a Bandaged Ear

RECAP
As Angelo makes Regina a business offer, Daphne finally confronts him about the reason he left. Meanwhile, Melody’s opinion of Bay and Emmett’s relationship doesn’t improve when he gets in trouble. And the Kennish’s entire case against the hospital is put in jeopardy when they learn some new disheartning information about their lawyer. (Summary from TV.com)

PLOT
I’m not going to lie, I felt like the Kennish-parent’s storyline kind of got lost in the rest of the episode. I was primarily interested in Emmett storyline, and the Daphne/Angelo storyline. When Emmett was arrested at the very end of the previous episode, my heart jumped. Partly because I was worried for Emmett and wanted to yell at the police men to be nicer to him, and partly because I had forgotten what Emmett could have done to be arrested in the first place. I did think that Melody was a bit hard on Bay, she was after all just worried about her boyfriend, but I kind of understand where she is coming from. I was surprised and very happy to see that Emmett and Daphne’s relationship isn’t nearly as strained as I thought it was going to be. Their friendship is one that needs to stay strong. As for the Daphne/Angelo stuff, it was nice to see her confront him, and to see him be honest. I still think he’s up to something.

GUEST STARS
(I’m not sure either of these two are considered “guest stars” anymore, but I’m going to put them here.)

Marlee Matlin (Melody)- How I love to hate this character. I understand where she is coming from as a parent who wants her child to straighten up, and that she thinks that Bay is a bad influence on Emmett. I also think that she’s a bit harsh on Bay. I’m not sure if it’s because she prefers Daphne over Bay or if it’s because just really doesn’t like Bay. Either way, I always enjoy Marlee’s interactions with Sean Berdy’s Emmett, it’s exactly how a mother and son would interact with each other.

Gilles Marini (Angleo)- Yeah, he’s pretty, but he’s also up to something. Gilles’ Angelo is clearly hiding something. As much as I love that the character is reaching out to Bay and trying to have some sort of a relationship with her, he seems to have an agenda. Gilles is the perfect blend of suave and secretive. You can see that he’s hiding something behind his dashing smile.

QUOTES

Emmett: “I hated being deaf. And I hated myself for feeling that way.”

Emmett has been going through a lot in the past few episodes. I’m glad to see more of his home life and more of his character in general.

Bay: “Nobody is better at being mad at the world than me.”

COMING UP

LINKS
Watch episodes of Switched at Birth on abcfamily.com and on Hulu.

Leave a Reply

