Movie Reel` My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend


Starring: Alyssa Milano, Christopher Gorham, Michael Landes, Tom Lenk and Beau Bridges.
Rating: PG

SUMMARY
Jesse (Alyssa Milano), in a moment of bold self-confidence, introduces herself to Ethan (Christopher Gorham), a struggling writer. And then in walks Troy (Michael Landes), and in a moment of bold self-confidence, he introduces himself to Jesse. Jesse falls in love with both men, who happen to have a lot in common but still seem very different. What will happen when Jesse has to tell the truth? (Summary from IMDB.com)


INITIAL DRAW
I first found out about this movie while stalking checking out Christopher Gorham’s twitter. Finding out that it was filmed in Utah was a happy surprise. When I found out that Alyssa Milano was in it as well, I knew that I had to see it.

THOUGHTS
I went into this movie, expecting it to be super cheesy. Although it was indeed super cheesy, overall the plot was well-developed and they did really well as showing both sides of the story. Jesse and Ethan share some amazing chemistry, go on adorable first dates and make you fall in love with their love. Jesse and Troy have the kind of whirlwind romance that makes for a fantastic romantic comedy.

Jesse is kind of what every girl would love to be… or at least be her best friend. She’s funny, smart, and a very easily loved character. Her relationship with the other people in her life make you feel like she’d be an excellent best friend, and it isn’t hard to see why Ethan and Troy fall for her.

Ethan. Oh, Ethan. It’s no secret that I have a thing for the geeks in all of my TV shows and movies. When someone tries to justify men’s obsession with Star Wars by liking it to Pride and Prejudice, you just can’t not love him. He’s the typical boy next door who is just trying to find himself, and on that path, stumbles into love.

Troy is the eye candy of the movie. Don’t get me wrong, Ethan is adorable, but Troy is suave and sweet. He’s not the typical counterbalance to Ethan that you see in most movies. He’s just as sweet and loving to Jesse as Ethan is. He just wears better clothes, drives a better car and has a bit more self-confidence.

The scenery for this movie is beautiful. Though, I may be a little bias since it was filmed in my city. I had to watch it twice before I could stop giggling and saying “Hey! I know where that is!” or “Whoa, that’s just down the street from my work”. They used some the greatest places in Salt Lake to film. Everywhere from The Tavernacle to the Wells Fargo Building. They knew how to show off the beauty of this city.

QUOTES

Jesse: Ever try to get published?
Ethan: Used to.
Jesse: Used to get published?
Ethan: Used to try.

—-

Ethan: I’m going to use the little boy’s room. Can I trust you to behave yourself?
Jesse: Mmm… No. I’m gonna snoop around.Everywhere. So you better hurry.
Ethan: Don’t worry, I’m built for speed.
Jesse: Well, that’s hot.
Ethan: I meant, in the bathroom. [pause] That’s not better.

—-

Jesse: Mr. Darcy expressing his undying devotion? You can’t see that too many times.
Ethan: See, I feel the same way. Just take out Mr. Darcy, insert Princess Leia, replace a look of undying devotion with a gold bikini.

—-

Troy: You’re smarter than me.
Jesse: Well, nobody’s denying that.

WATCH NOW
Right now, My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend is streaming on Hulu.

2 thoughts on “Movie Reel` My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend

Leave a Reply

