“Stars aren’t born, they’re made.” – Smash, Pilot episode.

SYNOPSIS
“Smash” is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire – to be a “Smash.” The series centers on a desire to create a Broadway musical based on the life of Marilyn Monroe – written by the successful songwriting duo of Tom and Julia. Julia recently began the process of adopting a child with her husband Frank of many years, but her focus is torn when she has the opportunity to write another Broadway hit. A rivalry soon forms for the lead role between a youthful, inexperienced Midwestern beauty Karen- who is trying to find fame in the big city against all odds – and stage veteran Ivy Lynn, who’s determined to leave the chorus line and finally get her big break. A tenacious producer Eileen discovers the “Marilyn” project and jumps on board with a brilliant director, Derek- whose talent is matched by his cunning and egocentric amorality. (from NBC.com)


PLOT
It’s not a shock that stations have seen how big Glee has become and are wanting to cash in however they can. In the case of Smash, I don’t think that’s what’s going to happen. Clearly the original idea stemmed from Glee’s success, but the overall premise is kind of brilliant. It’s not often that we get to see the inner workings of Broadway and how one becomes a star (outside of a reality show, that is). It’s about watching a show be formed from the writing process to the casting to rehearsals and so on.

As someone completely in love with most of Broadway, it drew me in with the cast.

CAST
This cast is pretty top notch. Mostly because a good handful of the actors on the show are Broadway babies.

Debra Messing, I’ve loved her ever since Will and Grace. I’ve been waiting for her to be in something new that I could get addicted to. And now she is. In Will and Grace, we mostly saw her as the comedian, it’ll be nice to see her in a more dramatic role.

Christian Borle was the main reason I picked up this show . Ever since I saw him as Emmett in Legally Blonde the Musical, I’ve adored him. I can’t wait for him to get some sort of solo. Please tell me he gets a solo. I need for him to sing a solo at some point.

Jack Davenport was someone that I didn’t even recognize until I was looking him up on IMDB. Then I felt really dumb. After realizing that he is Norrington from Pirates of the Caribbean, I couldn’t unsee him as that character. Which makes his character on Smash far more interesting and adds a certain sleeze factor. It’ll be interesting to see what he does with his character.

Angelica Huston. Yeah, It’s Angelica Houston, who wants to argue that she’s not a phenomenal actress who commands attention when she’s on the screen? Anyone?

Brian d’Arcy James, was the actor that I didn’t recognize until a few hours after seeing the pilot. Then I promptly started freaking out. I first heard him when he played Shrek on Shrek the Musical, but I didn’t really fall in love with his voice until hearing him sing songs from Next to Normal. He’s another one of the actors that I’d love to hear him sing on the show. It probably wouldn’t make sense, but I would love to hear it.

I had no idea who Megan Hilty was when I watched the episode. But I did find myself thinking that between the two girls, she much more of a Marilyn. She has the voice and the body of Marilyn. I’m really impressed with her performances in the pilot, I hope that it continues to be as awesome.

If Christian Borle, Debra Messing, and Brian d’Arcy James weren’t enough to bring me to this show, Katharine McPhee would be. I didn’t really follow her journey in American Idol, but I have followed her acting/singing career ever since. Her song Terrified is easily one of my most listened to songs ever. When she co-starred in The House Bunny, I knew that I would want to follow her career.

RECOMMENDATION
I highly recommend this pilot. Though most shows suffer from “pilot-itis”, this pilot does an excellent job of establishing the setting of the series and introducing you to the characters. You can catch Smash on Monday Nights after The Voice. If you missed the pilot, you can watch it on Hulu.

COMING UP

One thought on ““Stars aren’t born, they’re made.” – Smash, Pilot episode.

  1. OMG I DIDN’T EVEN REALIZE THAT WAS JACK DAVENPORT FUCK I AM A HORRIBLE FAN AND I AM FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW BECAUSE I CAN NEVER STOP WATCHING THIS SHOW NOW MY GOD

Leave a Reply

