[Recap&Review] Castle` The Limey

SUMMARY
A dead British model has Castle and Beckett working with Simon Hunt from Scotland Yard. While investigating, they become suspicious about the activities of the British Consulate’s Deputy General. Lanie persuades Beckett that she needs to make a move on Castle, sooner rather than later.(from TV.com)


PLOT
I feel like I’m a terrible person but, I really liked having playboy!Castle back for an episode. Granted he wasn’t nearly and playboy-y as season 1 Castle, but it was nice to kind of see that in him a bit. I’m glad that he’d matured enough over the past few seasons that it isn’t a permanent change, but just a blip was kind of nice to see.

That all being said, when I first saw the preview for this week’s ep, I wanted to be mad at Castle. I really did. I wanted to yell at him for being so childish and annoying. Then, I listened to the recent episode of CastleCast and one of the listeners made sense in their reasoning. Reasoning that the excuse for Castle acting out the way he did, is because of his own insecurities. He was hurt (understandable) and because of that, he’s going back to his old ways of hiding behind bimbos and fancy cars. After all, Beckett isn’t the only one keeping secrets. How does he think she’s going to handle it when he comes clean about the Johanna Beckett murder investigation?

As for the rest of the episode, I felt it wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. The addition of Colin “Scotland Yard” Hunt (guest star Brett Tucker), was nice in the eye candy department (the man looks good in a tux), and even a little with the case, but adding that extra wedge between Castle and Beckett was completely unnessecary. The last episode was a big enough wedge, we didn’t need more. The case was super easy to call, once I heard about Charles Shaughnessy guest starring, I knew he would be the killer. I just… knew it.

Beckett’s reactions to Castle pursing other women was a bit weird. She can’t keep a secret from him and expect him to always follow her around like a little puppy dog. Eventually he’s going to give up this bone and go find another one to play with. Thank goodness for Lanie being the voice that yells for Kate to just take a deep breath and dive in.

Okay, that was a lot of analogies for one section lets move on.

CHARACTER
At the beginning of the episode when Lanie was talking to Kate I just wanted to reach through the screen and hug her. She was the voice box for the fandom. Telling Kate what we have been screaming at our television sets for the past few years. I also need to express my love for Beckett/Lanie scenes. I love when we get those two girls together. Their friendship is wonderful and there needs to be more scenes of just the two of them having girl talk.

COMING UP


BROWNCOATS UNITE!!!!

LINKS
If you need to catch up on the episode go to abc.com.
Tune in with John and Heidi weekly on Castlecast, a Castle Podcast.

Leave a Reply

