Indulge Your Earholes: CastleCast!

Above logo designed by me for the CastleCast cafepress store.

So considering that Castle wasn’t new last night, I’ve decided to post and article about one of my favorite Castle oriented things (that sort of counts, right?). You’ve seen me post links to it after every recap and review I do of Castle. I will continue to do so, because it is one the greatest Castle things ever.

Here’s the thing, I’ve been wanting to post a review for them on iTunes, but as I am one of the only people in the universe that doesn’t OWN iTunes(or any Apple product), I haven’t been able to. So I hope this counts. (:

A little over a year ago, if you had asked me if I listened to any podcasts, I would have snorted and turned a heel and walked away. I kind of detested the idea of listening to people talk. It just didn’t interest me. All of the podcasts I had tried to listen to just bored me and I ended up turning them off half way through. CastleCast was the exception.

I discovered CastleCast when I got a new phone about a year ago, I was searching through their media hub and some how ran across podcasts for my favorite TV shows, I don’t even know how it popped up, but I saw Castlecast and thought “What the heck, why not?” I listened to one episode and haven’t stopped since.

John and Heidi have an amazing repour with each other. Both self proclaimed fangirl and boy, it’s great to see them freak out and flail along with us as they talk about each episode. They are unashamed of their fangirl/boy side, and it makes me feel like I’m not alone. In addition to that, both are very seated in their own opinions and keep the arguing (when their opinions differ) to a minimum. Which is one thing I greatly appreciate. The last thing I want is to listen to two people argue for an hour.

Not only do these two have great hosting chemistry with each other, the way they encourage and interact with their listeners (myself included), is something that I haven’t heard on a podcast before. If you look at their facebook page, it’s almost all listeners interacting with other listeners, or John and Heidi interacting with listeners. Listen to one episode and you quickly realize how much these two really love doing this podcast for all of us and how much we all love the podcast and them for it. It’s not a secret, we’re pretty up front about out admiration for the podcast.

Truly one of my favorite parts about this podcast is the constant references to other television. As a television junkie, I can’t help but find kindred spirits in John and Heidi and the other listeners, as we try and see if we can connect every guest star to someone in the Whedon-verse (that isn’t Nathan). This game (started by John) has caused me to make connections to Joss Whedon in every show I watch. Not just Castle. When a podcast starts effecting your personal life, you know it’s a good one.

I became so addicted to this podcast I ended up creating the designs for their CafePress store. Mostly, just to see if I could come up with something other people liked. To my surprise, they used it!

So, if you are looking for an amazing podcast, with amazing hosts and an amazing community of people look no further than CastleCast.

Follow the podcast on twitter @castlepodcast, Facebook, or just on their website Castlecast.net

“Try not to murder anybody while we’re gone.”

2 thoughts on “Indulge Your Earholes: CastleCast!

  1. Pingback: #95: Undead Again. — CastleCast

  2. Pingback: #95: Undead Again.

Leave a Reply

