[Recap&Review] Castle` Headhunters

(sorry for the really late post, guys)

SUMMARY
With tensions rising between Castle and Beckett, Castle finds himself a new partner — Detective Ethan Slaughter, a tough and colorful cop from the city’s gang unit. But Castle gets more than he bargained for when Slaughter shows him a grittier side of police work that puts Castle in the line of fire like never before.(from IMDB.)


PLOT
The Limey was a very Beckett-centric episode, and this week, it was Castle’s turn. The case itself was curious, but not as good as as I expected it to be. Maybe it’s because when we enter gang/drug trafficking territory in TV I have a hard time not linking it to other crime dramas. Though I did think that the addition of Detective Slaughter was funny, he was a good one time addition to the cast. If he were to have become a recurring character, I think his methods and personality would get a bit tiring. The lack of Beckett in the episode saddened me. While I understood why she wasn’t in the main storyline, I really missed seeing her and Castle interact. Her small moment with her therapist was a great small, but potent piece of the episode. I love the scenes between Beckett and her therapist, they always envoke the most emotion from Beckett and they tend to kick her in the pants and make her realize what’s really happening, even though she can’t see it for herself.

WHEN FANDOMS COLLIDE
When Adam Baldwin was announced as a guest star, I squealed like mad. The combination of Nathan and Adam made all of my Firefly feelings come to the surface. I almost expected them not to interact at all (like when Michael Shanks guested on Sanctuary and only had a small scene with Amanda Tapping). I was glad that it was the opposite. Maybe I wasn’t paying enough attention, but I feel like they miss a lot of opportunities for Firefly references. I know there had to be a few (ie – Castle giving Slaughter his “brown coat”), but I expected more. I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t as much as I would have liked to see.

COMING SOON
Click here for promo photos from next week’s episode.

LINKS
If you need to catch up on the episode go to abc.com.
Tune in with John and Heidi weekly on Castlecast, a Castle Podcast.

Leave a Reply

