[Recap&Review] Castle` Always

SUMMARY
When the murder of an Army veteran puts Beckett on the trail of the man who shot her, Castle must decide how much he’s willing to sacrifice to keep her safe. As secrets are revealed and feelings are put on the table, the lives of the detectives at the 12th Precinct may never be the same.(from IMDB)


PLOT
I’m putting aside my fangirl for one moment to applaud Seamus Dever for this episode. Of all the characters in this finale, his REALLY got the short end of the stick. Poor Ryan was just looking out for everyone, trying to make sure that Beckett didn’t go in with no forethought and guns blazing. He wanted them all to take a minute and step back. Although he was the real hero of the episode, saving Beckett from her (second) near death experience, it ended with him alone in the precinct. One of the most heart crushing scenes for me this episode was when Esposito just walked away from him, without saying anything.

Next, we move onto all the stuff that happened with Castle and Beckett. If there was ever an episode that was the definition of “a whirlwind of emotions” this episode would be it. You have Castle trying to protect Beckett and keep her away from the case, Beckett fighting it and going anyway, they fight and everything hits the fan, then as she’s nearly falling to her death all she can think about is Castle, then we have the scene. This episode was a rollercoaster of a emotions and I wanted nothing more than to continue riding it. When Castle and Beckett were at her house and Castle finally confesses to all the information that he’s had this whole season, I was expecting it to blow up. I wasn’t expecting him to leave. At least, not really. I thought he’d watch from a distance, protect her. But as she hung from the ledge and it panned back and forth between her hanging there and Alexis’ speech, I couldn’t help but be a little scared. Obviously they’re not going to kill Beckett, but this was the first time that Castle wasn’t there to help her.


Then we have the scene. As someone who waited for Booth and Bones to get together for six seasons, and was extremely annoyed when they did and we didn’t get to see it, this scene made me incredibly happy. I may or may not have stopped breathing for a second during it. It wasn’t just the kissing, it was Beckett finally dropping that wall between her and Castle, letting it crumble at her feet and letting Castle through.

PERFORMANCES
ALL OF THE AWARDS!!! GIVE EVERYONE ALL OF THE AWARDS.
As heartcrushing and emotion-envoking as Nathan and Stana’s performances are, I still stand by my love for Seamus Dever. I just can’t get over the fact that even though Castle and Beckett are together, the team is apart, just because Ryan wanted to help everyone. And knew that he needed to. Through the whole episode, he continued to try and get everyone to do it the right way, he may have failed, but at least in the end he was the real hero.

Also, I’d be a bad Battlestar/Dollhouse fan if I didn’t mention my love for Tahmoh Penikett in this episode. He played the sniper so well. He had that slightly evil quality that just gave me chills in the ending episode. I was so excited when he was cast, I’m really looking forward to seeing if he comes back next season.

QUOTES

Castle: The most worthwhile things in life are often the most difficult. For example
(Phone rings, Beckett calling)
Wow, this really is a smart phone.

—-

Castle: Every morning I bring you a cup of coffee, just so I can see a smile on your face. Because I think you are the most remarkable, maddening, challenging, frustrating, person I’ve ever met. And I love you Kate, and if that means anything to you, if you care about me at all, just don’t do this.

—-

Castle: Beckett, what do you want?
Beckett: You.

COMING UP
*insert mandatory “Can it be September now, please?” comment here*

LINKS
If you need to catch up on the episode go to abc.com.
Tune in with John and Heidi weekly on Castlecast, a Castle Podcast.

2 thoughts on “[Recap&Review] Castle` Always

  1. I thought the last Beckett/Castle scene was yayy!! and happy-making (for us the audience). But the emotional roller-coaster that made this episode so good for me in addition to the Caskett scenes was definitely Seamus Dever’s performance. I have a confession to make: Ryan is my MOST favorite out of all of them. I like everyone but if I had to choose one fave character, he’d be it (and I know I might be in the minority in the fandom). And this ep was so crushing. I wanted to hug him and never let go.

    It did feel like it was Beckett & Esposito vs. Castle & Ryan throughout the whole episode with both Castle & Ryan trying to be levelheaded and looking-out for their partners but Beckett & Esposito just let their emotions take control of them and promptly got their butts kicked by Maddox. I know Esposito was just trying to have Beckett’s back and not get her in trouble with Gates, but it was not smart in hindsight for just the two of them to go after Maddox. And one could argue that Ryan was doing the same thing that Esposito was doing with supporting Beckett…it just unfortunately blew up in his face.

Leave a Reply

