“You Wanna Be a Bunhead, Huh?” — Bunheads, Pilot Episode

SYNOPSIS
Bunheads is the tale of a Las Vegas showgirl, who impulsively marries a man, moves to his sleepy coastal town, and takes an uneasy role at her new mother-in-law’s dance school. (from ABCFamily.com)

WHY I WATCHED IT
Here’s the thing. I’m pretty much in love with Amy Sherman-Palladino. She created one of my most loved TV shows and thus holds a very special place in my heart. Amy has this amazing way of writing real, strong, witty, and flawed women. They walk the fine line between quirky and weird and only rarely fall over the line between stereotype and believable. If you’ve ever watched Gilmore Girls, you’ll get serious Gilmore flashbacks while watching this show.

Sutton Foster plays the truly adorable, Michelle. A Vegas showgirl who just missed her chance. I was a bit nervous to see Sutton on TV. Having only seen her as Fiona on Shrek: The Musical and Reno Sweeney on Anything Goes, I wasn’t sure how well her charisma would translate on the screen. I really shouldn’t have been surprised. Sutton really shines as Michelle, having the perfect amount of vulnerability topped with a cherry of wit. With her mild gawkiness, I think that Sutton could really make this her breakout TV role.

Kelly Bishop plays the eclectic, Fanny. When she first popped on the screen my first thought was “Why is Emily Gilmore dressed like Miss Patty?” Although it will take more than one episode to make me NOT see her as Emily, I’m never disappointed by her performances. I was incredibly impressed with the ending scene where Sutton and Kelly were dancing. It was really amazing.

The rest of the supporting cast are still new to me. I’m liking that the girls they’ve chosen for the ballet studio don’t all look the same. They’re all different shapes and sizes, proving that Amy knows how to cast a show.

Aside from the cast, I don’t know any other creator that could make me feel so attached to these characters in just one episode. Maybe, it’s that I can relate to Michelle not knowing what to do with her life and just trying to find something that she’s good at. Maybe, it’s my attachment to Gilmore Girls that makes these characters weasel their way into my heart. Maybe, it’s something totally different that I haven’t discovered yet. Something about this show tugs and pulls at the heartstrings.

WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH IT
If you’re a fan at all of Gilmore Girls, you’ll love the way that this is written. It has a serious Gilmore Girls feel. From the characters to the script down to the transition music, it hugs you in the beautiful Amy Sherman-Pallidino embrace.

And if you’re not a fan of Gilmore Girls (I know they exist somewhere), still check this show out. It’s a bit quirky, but the characters are great. The whole premise of the show is one that a lot of shows could really strive for. It has just the right mix of heart, sarcasm and drama.

I promise, regardless of if you’re a Gilmore fan or not, the ending to the Pilot episode will make you anxious for the series to begin.

Bunheads premieres June 11th on ABC Family.

If you’re wanting to watch the sneak peek of Bunheads check out this WetPaint article for the secret link.

3 thoughts on ““You Wanna Be a Bunhead, Huh?” — Bunheads, Pilot Episode

  1. I adore Gilmore Girls, and I can tell that I’m going to love this as well. I just wish it was June 11th already so I can watch the first episode 😀

Leave a Reply

