Movie Reel` Brave

SUMMARY
Determined to make her own path in life, Princess Merida defies a custom that brings chaos to her kingdom. Granted one wish, Merida must rely on her bravery and her archery skills to undo a beastly curse.


INITIAL DRAW
There were a few draws for me in this movie. Primarily the music and general artistry of it, then as I watched more of the trailers I thought that it seemed like a really good story.

THOUGHTS
When I saw the first poster for Brave, it looked amazing. Just as a poster, I knew that it was something that I wanted to see. Then, Disney announced that Merida was going to be joining the ranks of Belle, Jasmine, Ariel and the rest of the Disney princesses. I got defensive.

I’m not sure why, but I have a really hard time accepting new princesses. Not because I think there shouldn’t be more, but I had clung to them so much when I was younger, that it takes me a minute to realize that I’m older and they’re coming out with new princesses for the generation.

I walked into this movie expecting one thing, and got something completely different. I went in expecting to see a defiant girl not wanting to marry, running off to change her fate and finding a prince along the way. They bicker, they annoy each other, and eventually they fall in love, live happily ever after, the end.

I wasn’t expecting it to be so empowering for women. Disney has been getting more and more female empowering as the movies have come out, this was one of those movies that I would want to take my daughter to go see and show her that it isn’t always about princes and parties. Because, over all this movie was about family.

If you go see this movie for no other reason than the pure artistry of it, I wouldn’t fault you. Aside from the work of art that is Merida’s hair, the landscape and and over all art of this movie is breathtaking. Combine that with the BEAUTIFUL music, and I’m in heaven.

 

Have you seen Brave? What did you think?

One thought on “Movie Reel` Brave

Leave a Reply

