Fall Premiere 2012` Revolution


I hadn’t heard about this show until I logged onto Hulu today and saw that the pilot episode was available for viewing. Being the TV-aholic I am, I had to at least watch the preview, just to find out what the show was about.

REVOLUTION

SUMMARY: Our entire way of life depends on electricity. So what would happen if it just stopped working? Well, one day, like a switch turned off, the world is suddenly thrust back into the dark ages. Planes fall from the sky, hospitals shut down, and communication is impossible. And without any modern technology, who can tell us why? Now, 15 years later, life is back to what it once was long before the industrial revolution: families living in quiet cul-de-sacs, and when the sun goes down lanterns and candles are lit. Life is slower and sweeter. Or is it? On the fringes of small farming communities, danger lurks. And a young woman’s life is dramatically changed when a local militia arrives and kills her father, who mysteriously – and unbeknownst to her – had something to do with the blackout. This brutal encounter sets her and two unlikely companions off on a daring coming-of-age journey to find answers about the past in the hopes of reclaiming the future.

Two things about this show that surprised me.
First thing: I was kind of surprised with the cast. I saw that Giancarlo Esposito was cast as the villain, and that drew me in a little bit. I really love him as Sydney Glass/Magic Mirror/Genie in Once, and since his guest appearance in Bones’ Katrina episode, I’ve always watched him with a bit of a creepy vibe. Which is always really good for a villain.

Also, Tracy Spiridakos, most recently guest starring in Being Human (US), wasn’t someone that I recognized immediately, but was someone who I was drawn to immediately. Charlie is the girl who just wants something more. She wants adventure and excitement, not her provincial town (see what I did there?).

The last cast member to surprise me was Billy Burke. When I saw him in the trailer, I knew that recognized him, but couldn’t put my finger on it. Finally, after looking it up, I realized I recognized him from the Twilight Movies as Charlie Swan (seriously, the best character in the series). In Revolution he’s one of the stronger characters, both as an actor, and as a character. His character is pretty bad-ass.


The second thing to surprise me was how much it reminded me of other (excellent, but now cancelled) shows. This show is like the love child between Jericho and Terra Nova (sans dinosaurs). Usually if I’m reminded of another show while watching something, it’s not a very good thing. Though this is just the pilot, I was really impressed with the fact that it reminded me of other shows, but didn’t make me think of those other shows while watching it.

Revolution premieres Sept. 17th on NBC, you can watch the pilot now on Hulu and on NBC.com.

2 thoughts on “Fall Premiere 2012` Revolution

  1. I saw the pilot at Fanexpo and definitely enjoyed it. It also reminds me a bit too much of Terra Nova, but it has two of my favourite elements: a romance that shouldn’t be and a nerd completely out of his element. So I’m in.

Leave a Reply

