“The World’s A Mess, and I Just Need to Rule It” — Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-Long Blog

What is everyone doing tomorrow night?

The correct answer is watching Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-Long Blog on CW. If you’ve never seen this show, you need to watch it. If you have seen this show before, what better time than during this Halloween season to watch a movie about superheroes and super-villains battling for the greater evil?

Dr. Horrible is one of those movies/tv shows/web series that fails to be topped in my book. Blame my love musicals, blame my love Nathan Fillion, Neil Patrick Harris, and Felicia Day, or blame my adoration of Joss Whedon, this movie is the perfect cocktail of all of those things. And thus it’s amazing.
Photobucket
At least to me.

One of the best things about this web series thing is the fact that it was made during the writers strike. That sentence sounds a little silly, but of all things to come from the writers strike this was probably the best. I mostly remember the strike as the time when my shows died. While I fully agreed that writers from TV shows and movies deserve just as much credit and money as the actors, the three month pause in my beloved shows caused a quick decline in my shows.

Dr. Horrible is one of the shining lights during this time. A group of people who just came together to create something silly and fun for fans and for themselves. The soundtrack still remains to be one of my favorite things to listen to ever. The songs are catchy but not super cheesy, and the cast really has some amazing singing voices.

Speaking of which, the cast is phenomenal! They’re amazing.
Photobucket
Neil Patrick Harris (Dr. Horrible/Billy) – I had only ever seen him in How I Met Your Mother as Barney. While it was weird to see him out of a suit, I was quickly distracted by how amazing his voice is. It’s swoon worthy. Even when he’s singing about laundry and world domination… Actually, especially when he’s talking about world domination.

Photobucket
Nathan Fillion (Captain Hammer) – Oh Captain Tightpants Castle, Nathan. I never tire of seeing you on my TV. The first time I watched this, I’m not sure who I was more excited for, Nathan, Neil, or Felicia. Nathan is the one that surprised me the most. I didn’t really know that he could sing, I don’t know that he did either. In an unexpected twist, Nathan turns out to be not only ruggedly handsome, but an amazing singer.

Photobucket
Felicia Day (Penny) – Felicia and Neil play off each other so well, I can’t even begin to explain my love for Felicia. She’s like the nerd queen. With her flog, and the new season of The Guild, I’m just in awe of how she manages to juggle it all. Though this was a few years ago, her small and simple part brings this movie together.

This series remains to be one of my most quoted tv shows ever. The lines never get old, and are always memorable. No matter how many times I see it, Captain Hammer saying “The Hammer is my penis” never fails to make me laugh.

Photobucket

Even though this is a such a short little web series (about the same amount of time as one full episode of Buffy), a lot get accomplished and you don’t feel like you’re missing anything. It’s not too fast, doesn’t skip a beat and really just has a lot of quality.

Once you’ve watched it, if you’re interested, Joss and the cast recorded a commentary for it. Not just any commentary, a MUSICAL commentary. If this wasn’t amazing enough, listening to the commentary tops the cake.

Also, if it sounds like something you’d enjoy, come back here and watch this amazing 8-bit Dr. Horrible.

Leave a Reply

