Movie Reel ` Pitch Perfect

SUMMARY
Beca, a freshman at Barden University, is cajoled into joining The Bellas, her school’s all-girls singing group. Injecting some much needed energy into their repertoire, The Bellas take on their male rivals in a campus competition.

Starring: Anna Kendrick, Skylar Astin, Brittany Snow, and Rebel Wilson
Rating: PG-13
Run Time: 112 min (1 hour, 52 min)


INITIAL DRAW
I didn’t know anything really about this movie at all. The only reason that I even wanted to see it was because of Rebel Wilson. I really disliked her character in Bridesmaids, but in the trailer for this movie, she was the best part. In addition to the excellent comedy of Rebel Wilson, the music was pretty intriguing, intriguing enough for me to want to see it just for that reason.

THOUGHTS
This movie surprised me a lot. From Anna Kendrick’s acting to the compilation of music that was chosen to the actual talent in the performances. So, lets start with Anna Kendrick.

I was a bit nervous about Anna Kendrick. Having only ever seen her in Twilight, I didn’t have high hopes for her abilities. Which is a horrible assumption to make, but I’m human (and so was she in Twilight, so at least she had that going for her). I was happily surprised with her performance. It was so different from Twilight, I actually momentarily forgot about her part in the saga. I was especially impressed with her voice, she was able to blend really well with the rest of the ensemble, while still standing out when she needed to.

Moving on to the rest of the cast, Rebel Wilson not only delivered on her performances, but she blew any expectations I had for her out of the water. Anna Camp, though sometimes a bit like a broken record (especially with the “aca-scuse me” stuff) played the role of the goal obsessed leader. Brittany Snow, also surprised me. Not as much as Anna or Rebel, but she definitely brought something to this role that I hadn’t seen from her since John Tucker Must Die. The surrounding cast did a great job with blending in to a group where you still felt like you knew every one of them, even if they weren’t on the screen for a long time.


Where did Skylar Astin come from and why haven’t I heard of him before? Of the entire cast, I was the most surprised by him. Though I openly admit that I have a thing for nerdy singers, to the point that a guy looks a lot more attractive when they start singing. This guy had a voice that made me legitimately swoon, and when he came on the screen you can’t help but be drawn to him. Not just because he’s attractive, but his face is so expressive that you can tell the moment his character’s heart breaks. He’s definitely going on my Must Keep an Eye Out For list. Also, he may appear on my (not-so) Weekly Eye Candy spotlight sometime soon.

In a lot of ways, this movie reminded me of John Tucker Must Die (not just because of Brittany Snow). I’m not exactly sure why, but the whole had a John Tucker feel to it.

As for the plot, I have to say it pretty decent. I never felt that the relationship development between Beca and Jesse was taking over too much or the movie time. It ended in a cute (though predictable) way and didn’t drag out the plot until it was tired.

Favorite Part

Have you seen Pitch Perfect? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “Movie Reel ` Pitch Perfect

Leave a Reply

